Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Coal Region Canary
Coal Region CanaryCoal Region Canary

Local News

🌪️ Tornado Watch Issued for Schuylkill County

tornado watch schuylkill county

tornado watch schuylkill county

National Weather Service has issued a Tornado Watch for Schuylkill County and 20 other counties in Pennsylvania.

The Tornado Watch expires at 9 p.m. Thursday.

In addition to Schuylkill, the following counties are included in this Watch alert:

  • Adams
  • Bedord
  • Blair
  • Centre
  • Columbia
  • Cumberland
  • Dauphin
  • Franklin
  • Fulton
  • Huntindon
  • Juniata
  • Lancaster
  • Lebanon
  • Mifflin
  • Montour
  • Northumberland
  • Perry
  • Snyder
  • Union
  • York

A Tornado Watch does not mean that a tornado is imminent. It just means weather conditions are favorable for a possible tornado.

They generally cover a large swath of land. However, National Weather Service urges people under a Tornado Watch alert to be prepared in the event a Tornado Warning is issued.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

NWS is tracking storms moving across Pennsylvania that are headed toward Schuylkill County later Thursday. Several Tornado Warnings have been issued in points west of Schuylkill County.

Earlier today, NWS placed Schuylkill County into a group of counties with an Enhanced risk of severe weather.

Image: National Weather Service

Subscribe to Coal Region Canary

Get email updates from Coal Region Canary by becoming a subscriber today. Just enter your email address below to get started!

News Tips?

Let us know of news happening in your area. Use our NEWS TIPS ENTRY FORM
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Local News

Several Schuylkill County residents say they recently found bizarre printed messages inside packages of items purchased at local grocery stores. The Canary spoke with...

Local Weather

How much are we really going to get? Some say it's still too soon to tell.

Local Weather

Slightly more snow expected for Schuylkill County.

PA News

Flights arriving in the cover of night to NEPA.

Local News

If convicted, Hall faces up to 10 more years in prison.

Coronavirus in Pennsylvania

Hamburg Area School District may be joining Tamaqua Area in defying the indoor mask mandate announced by the administration of Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf...