Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Coal Region Canary
Coal Region CanaryCoal Region Canary

Local News

Schuylkill League Girls Basketball Champions (1969-2019)

schuylkill league girls basketball champions

The 2020 Schuylkill League Girls Basketball Championships get underway on Tuesday, February 11, at Martz Hall in Pottsville.

Here’s who’s competing for the coveted Schuylkill League championship this year.

In the semifinal round on Feb. 11, Mahanoy Area faces North Schuylkill at 6 p.m. Then, at 7:30 p.m., Jim Thorpe takes on Minersville.

The championship game is Friday, Feb. 14, at 6 p.m. in Pottsville.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

This year’s playoffs feature three teams with recent success in Schuylkill League girls’ basketball.

Jim Thorpe won its first league title in 2019. Mahanoy Area won its first in 2018. And Minersville won its 3 Schuylkill League titles in 2014, 2016, and 2017.

Then, there’s North Schuylkill. The Lady Spartans are the most successful team in recent Schuylkill League girls’ basketball history. They’ve racked up 14 league titles since 1969. The last title came in 2015.

North Schuylkill won 7 league crowns in a row between 1990-1996.

Schuylkill League Girls Basketball Champions (1985-2019)

2019Jim Thorpe
2018Mahanoy Area
2015North Schuylkill
2013Pine Grove
2009Nativity BVMFirst year with 3 divisions
2008Marian Catholic
2007North Schuylkill
2006Marian Catholic
2005Marian Catholic
2004Marian Catholic3-OT
2003Pine Grove
2002North Schuylkill
2001North Schuylkill
2000Nativity BVM
1999Nativity BVM
1998Nativity BVMFirst year with 4 divisions
1997Nativity BVM
1996North Schuylkill
1995North Schuylkill
1994North Schuylkill
1993North Schuylkill
1992North Schuylkill
1991North Schuylkill
1990North Schuylkill
1989Pine Grove
1988North Schuylkill
1987North SchuylkillOT
1986North Schuylkill
1985Pine Grove
1984Marian Catholic
1983West Hazleton
1982Pine Grove
1981Pine Grove
1980Marian Catholic
1979Marian Catholic
1978Nativity BVM
1976Pine Grove
1975Pine Grove
1974Marian Catholic
1973Marian Catholic
1972Marian Catholic
1971Pine Grove
1970Pine Grove

Schuylkill League Girls Basketball Championships By School (since 1969)

North Schuylkill141986, 1987, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2001, 2002, 2007, 2015
Marian Catholic101972, 1973, 1974, 1979, 1980, 1984, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008
Pine Grove101970, 1971, 1975, 1976, 1981, 1982, 1985, 1989, 2003, 2013
Nativity BVM61978, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2009
Minersville32014, 2016, 2017
Tamaqua31977, 2010, 2011
Jim Thorpe12019
Mahanoy Area12018
West Hazleton11983

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Subscribe to Coal Region Canary

Get email updates from Coal Region Canary by becoming a subscriber today. Just enter your email address below to get started!

News Tips?

Let us know of news happening in your area. Use our NEWS TIPS ENTRY FORM
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Local News

Several Schuylkill County residents say they recently found bizarre printed messages inside packages of items purchased at local grocery stores. The Canary spoke with...

Local Weather

How much are we really going to get? Some say it's still too soon to tell.

PA News

Flights arriving in the cover of night to NEPA.

Local Weather

Slightly more snow expected for Schuylkill County.

Coronavirus in Pennsylvania

Hamburg Area School District may be joining Tamaqua Area in defying the indoor mask mandate announced by the administration of Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf...

Local News

Back on March 10, a call came in to the Schuylkill County 9-1-1 dispatch center. Crews with Minersville’s Goodwill Fire Co. and EMS needed...